Monday, 20 September 2010

[Mix] Lazer Sword - The 808 Mix Tape (Global bass)

t’s pretty obvious in most songs included in this mix (some songs not so obvious) that it was fully inspired by the infamous Roland TR-808 Drum Machine. After all, the one and only Sir Mix-A-Lot said it himself, “The 808 kick drum make the girlies get dumb” which should be reason enough. The 808 has without a doubt been the most popular and favorited drum machine in hip-hop and dance music since the beginning and it really just never gets old.

Clearly the 808 is being embraced even more in modern day electronic and dance music. Producers are getting quite creative with it’s sounds. They’re experimenting more, breaking the boundaries of the conventional kick, snare, hi hat patterns and loosely creating complex rhythms, showcasing other 808 percussion sounds like the clave for a hi hat or a tom replacing the kick and these new approaches are definitely represented throughout the mix.


1. Space Dimension Controller “SH-8040″
2. Girl Unit “Shade On”
3. 214 “Why Don’t You”
4. Ramadanman “Glut”
5. Cybotron “Clear”
6. Jacques Greene “Holdin On” (unreleased)
7. Machinedrum “808 Wonders Of The World”
8. AC Slater “Take You ft. Ninjasonik (Lazer Sword Remix)”
9. Bok Bok “Crew (Instrumental)”
10. Sepalcure “Love Pressure (Lando Kal Remix)”
11. Distal “Apple Bottom”
12. Lando Kal “Moist” (unreleased)
13. Dj Oddz “Blade Runner (Instrumental)”
14. Zakee Kuduro ft. Anbuley “Sane Eba”
15. Lazer Sword “Web Swag”
16. Sir Mix-A-Lot “Posse On Broadway”
17. Lazer Sword “I’m Gone ft. Turf Talk (Low Limit Remix)”
18. Krystal Klear “Anteater”
19. Dopplereffekt “Infophysix”


Lazer Sword homepage

No comments:

Post a Comment