Thursday, 1 July 2010

Ninja Tune 20th Anniversary Boxset

Full details emerged today over the special box set Ninja Tune is releasing to celebrate the label's 20th anniversary this year, and it looks set to be something special! Rustie, Autechre, Mala, Zomby, Prefuse 73 and Mark Pritchard all feature in the mammoth 6 CD box set. Check the full tracklisting below and see what's in store:

Two Fingers ‘Fools’ *
Roots Manuva ‘Its On’ *
Toddla T ‘Want U Now’ (feat. Miss Dynamite) *
Dorian Concept ‘Her Tears Taste Like Pears’ *
Zomby ‘The Forest’ *
Offshore ‘Jen At The Station’ *
Emika ‘Double Edge’
Dels ‘Eating Clouds’ *
Big Dada Sound ‘Signs’ *
Eric B & Rakim ‘Paid In Full’ (Switch meets Coldcut Remix) *
Andreya Triana ‘Lost Where I Belong’ (Flying Lotus Remix)
The Bug ‘Catch A Fire’ *
Eskmo ‘Cloudlight’ *
Daedelus ‘LA Nocturn’

Roots Manuva ‘Dub Styles’ (Micachu Remix) *
Diplo ‘Summers Gonna Hurt You’ (Diplo 2010 Remix) *
The Heavy ‘How You Like Me Now’ (Joker mix)
Stateless ‘Ariel’ (Rustie Remix) *
Diplo ‘Newsflash’ (Metronomy Remix) *
PRDCTV ‘Metropolis’ (Dan Le Sac Remix) *
Darksky ‘Leave’ *
The Long Lost ‘Woebegone’ (Flying Lotus’ Like Woe Mix)
Spank Rock ‘Tell It What It Look Like’ (Todd Edwards Remix) *
Shuttle ‘Lion’ *
Poirier ‘Get Crazy’ (Mark Pritchard Remix) *
Jammer ‘One Over Me’ *
Fink ‘This Is The Thing’ (EL-B Remix) *
Amon Tobin ‘Lost & Found’ *

Lou Rhodes & The Cinematic Orchestra ‘One Good Thing’ (version) *
Bonobo & Speech Debelle ‘Sun Will Rise’ *
Grasscut ‘Blink In The Night’ *
Bonobo & Andreya Triana ‘Wonder When’
Quincy & Xen Cuts Allstars ‘I Hear The Drummer’ (Tunng edit) *
Yppah ‘Never Mess With Sunday’ *
DJ Food (title tbc) *
Jaga Jazzist ‘Endless Galaxy’ *
Cougar ‘$64k Rainbow’ *
Amon Tobin ‘Eight Sum’ *
DJ Vadim ‘Terrorist’ (Gaslamp Computer Killer Remix) *
Roots Manuva ’Witness’ (Slugabed Remix) *
Andreya Triana ‘A Town Called Obsolete’ (Mala Remix) *
Coldcut ‘Man In A Garage’ (King Jammy Dub) *
Jono McCleery ‘Tomorrow’ (edit)
Floating Points Ensemble ‘Post Suite’ *

Eskamon ‘Fine Objects’
The Bug ‘Skeng’ (Autechre Remix) *
King Cannibal ‘The Grind & Crawl’ *
Emika ‘Drop The Other’ (Daedelus Remix) *
Amon Tobin ‘Foley Versions’ (Kronos Quartet Interpretation) *
Antipop Consortium ’Volcano’ (Four Tet Remix)
Mr Scruff ‘Pickled Spider’
Jaga Jazzist ‘Toccata’ (Grasscut Remix) *
The Death Set ‘Impossible’ (Shuttle Remix)
Daedelus ‘Trouble With A Capital D’ *
Roots Manuva ‘Let The Spirit’ (Hot Chip Remix)
Mr Scruff ‘Believe’ *
Bonobo ‘Eyesdown’ (Floating Points Remix)
Shuttle ‘Tunnel’

The Cinematic Orchestra (title tbc) *
Coldcut ‘Autumn Leaves’ (2010 Budapest Mix) *
Floating Points Ensemble (no.2 title tbc) (to be released on 12″ single also) *
Jaga Jazzist ‘Synchronise Your Watches’ *
Coldcut ‘True Skool’ (Zomby Remix) *
Bonobo ‘Eyesdown’ (feat Dels) *
Clifford Gilberto ‘Deliver The Weird’ (Dorian Concept Remix) *
The Bug ‘Poison Dart’ (Prefuse 73 Broke Moog Version) *
Fink ‘See It All’ (Scuba Remix) *
Roots Manuva ‘Shake Your Money Maker’ *
cLOUDEAD vs Fat Possum (title tbc) *
The Heavy (title tbc) *
Blockhead ‘Ugly Brown’ *

Roots Manuva ‘Witness’ (Modeselektor Remix) *
Toddla T ‘Sky Surfing’ (Benga Remix) (to be released on 12″ single also) *
Roots Manuva ‘Join The Dots’ (Cut Chemist Remix) *
Kid Koala ’3 Bit Blues’ *
Pop Levi ‘Blue Honey’ (Amorphous Androgenous Remix Edit) *
Blockhead ‘The Music Scene’ (EL-P Remix) *
Coldcut & Hexstatic ‘Timber’ (The Orb Remix) *
DJ Kentaro ‘Paid In Full’ *
Coldcut ‘This Island Earth’ (Joe Goddard Remix) *
Qemists ‘Don’t Lose It’ *
DJ Food ‘African Rhythms’ (Tom Middleton Remix) *
DJ Food ‘Dark Lady’ (808 State Remix) *
Herbaliser ‘Something Wicked’ (Roots Manuva Dub) *

[Tune/Mix] Strippper ft. Sir Real - Stuka (Surfer Rosa)

The new tune from wunderkind Stripper 'Stuka' is out soon on Surfer Rosa records, featuring the talents of Sir Real (yes, him from Painkiller). Video is adrenaline fuelled japery;

Stripper - Live In Brazil

1 - Pole Position - Stripper(Unreleased Dub)
2 - Rio - Stripper Remix - Tim Healevy vs Felguk (Giant Pussy)
3 - Wasp Killers - Stripper (Unreleased Dub)
4 - Nervous - Stripper (We Come In peace)
5 - Bounce - Stripper Remix - Krome Angels Vs Product.01 (KromePressings)
6 - Sluts of Kazantip - Stripper (Unreleased Dub)
7 - Shudder - Stripper (We Come In Peace)
8 - Stripper Theme Ft DJ Omega- Stripper (Giant Pussy)
9 - Stuka Ft Mc Sir Real - Stripper (Surfer Rosa)


[Competition] Star in Tim Healey's new video & win free music for a year

Big prize on offer here from the rising star of electro filth, Mr Tim Healey....

Following the success of Real Smooth (supported by Fatboy Slim et al) My People is the new speaker-tearing, supersonic club tune from electro-house godfather Tim Healey and German club legend Tomcraft, with Junior Red on vocal duties, out late July on Taste/d music.

AND - they need YOU in the video! All successful entrants will be sent a link to download a 1 hr mix by either Tim Healey or Tomcraft. The winning clip will win a year’s subscription to both Taste/d and Surfer Rosa Records, where 12 months of the latest singles will be digitally sent directly to the winner’s email inbox.


1.Choose a location: If you can, go to a famous landmark (e.g. Sydney: Opera House; Rio, Corcovado; Tokyo, Shibuya; London, Tower Bridge) – if that’s not an option - then create a scene of your own making

2. Film yourself (or you and your friends) on your mobile phone, camcorder, flip or whatever, dancing, getting naked or generally expressing yourself at the location. Please note: your film should not be longer than 20 seconds in length.

3. Upload the film to and send the link to

I have missed Resin Records of late. Some of their tunes were massive for me a few years back, the MYSL remix of Black Mamba Funk being probably my favourite. Thankfully, they are still pumping out the tunes, including this cut from French producer 2D

2D - Twist Like This (Resin Records)

All in glorious 320kbps free to download glory!

2D also has a new tune ‘ALL THAT SKA’ / ‘KINDA JAZZ’ out for release, which you can SoundCloud here